Some book illustrations

On Cardboard Towns I started publishing a small bunch of quite old illustrations I have drawn for a quite old book of mine.

Way back in 1986, when I was a really young student, a small publisher – Felici Editore – approached me with the proposal to draw an illustrated book about Pisa. I thought a little while about it and then I went back to the kind, old man and said: – I’ll do it, but it will not be another dull book about monuments and beautiful sunsets on the river and stuff. Maybe there will be no tower at all.

Mr. Spartaco took a deep breath, shrugged and said: – Ok, begin drawing.

A few months later – after a hot summer spent feverishly writing and drafting – the book was ready and was eventually published in October.

The pictures above are some of the illustrations of this book, which was titled simply Pisa.

Leave a Reply

